Upgrade your browser - Unfortunately, this site has updated features that cannot run on this version of Internet Explorer. Download a free upgrade of Internet Explorer.

Commissioner Election Referendum

Thank you for your participation in the California Tourism Assessment Program. Pursuant to the California Tourism Marketing Act, a referendum for the election of commissioners is scheduled to begin in April 2024.

The referendum is the mechanism by which you will vote to elect your industry representatives to the California Travel and Tourism Commission (dba Visit California). Commissioners on the Visit California Board authorize how assessment monies are spent related to the development and execution of an annual tourism marketing plan for California.

In this 2024 referendum, you will vote on the election of commissioners for Visit California in the following industry categories: accommodations, attractions and recreation, restaurants and retail, and passenger car rental.

Commissioner candidates are nominated by the Nominating Committee.

It is important to note that only businesses that have paid their assessments and any fines or late fees up through and including assessments that were due in July 2022 will be eligible to vote in the referendum. Any outstanding assessment fees for that period must be paid by April 1, 2024, to participate in the referendum vote. If you have any questions regarding filing the Tourism Assessment Form, please contact the Tourism Assessment Program at (916) 322-1266.

Click here and vote online.

  • Ballots due - May 22, 2024
  • Results Certification - June 11,  2024
  • Announcement Letter - June 14, 2024

Learn about the industry members up for election to Visit California’s board of directors:


Robert Gleason, President & Chief Executive Offier, Evans Hotels
Sima Patel, Chief Executive Officer, Ridgemont Hospitality
Ted Selogie, Regional Vice President & GM, AccorHotels
Ken Potrock, President, Disney Resorts
Kurt Stocks, President/General Manager, LEGOLAND California Resort
Carla Murray, President, U.S. Western Region Full Service MxM, Marriott International
Peter Clarke, Vice President – CMH Operations West, InterContinental Hotels Group


Ron Cohen, President & Chief Operations Officer, Mammoth & June Mountain Ski Areas
Scott Strobl, Executive Vice President & General Manager, Universal Studios Hollywood


Sandra Fletcher, President, Simco Restaurants Group

Passenger Rental Car

Kevin Bass, General Manager/Vice President, Enterprise Holdings

Review all commissioner biographies here.

Your support of the Assessment Program and the California Travel and Tourism Commission benefits your local community and business and contributes to California's growing economy. Please contact California Office of Tourism Manager Tori Cruz-Fuchs at (916) 233-0232 if you need additional information on the referendum process.